The Basics of Each Chakra

chakras May 18, 2022
The Basics of Each Chakra

Chakras are, at the most basic level, points of energy in our physical body that, when open, allow your nervous system, major organs, and mind to work at their highest level. When balanced, our life force energy flows freely through the body.

In this guide, I am going to break down each of the 7 main chakras and explain the basics of each, as well as what a healthy expression of the chakras should look like. 

Root Chakra

The first and lowest (physically) of the 7 main chakras is the Root Chakra – it provides you with a foundation both physically and mentally, and helps keep you grounded. The energy point is located at the base of your spine, and it is closely related to the base of your spine, low back, legs, feet, and bones. 

A healthy expression looks like overall mental/physical wellbeing and healthy family dynamics.

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is your Sacral Chakra – which is related to your creativity, sexuality, and how you relate emotionally to yourself and others. This energy point is located right above your belly button, and is closely related to your reproductive organs, large and small intestines, kidney and bladder. 

A healthy expression looks like physical and financial wellbeing, grounded presence, purposeful actions and interactions, and healthy family dynamics.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus chakra is located in your upper abdomen, and is responsible for your vitality, power, dreams, self-esteem, and confidence. It is closely linked to your ribs, adrenal glands, stomach, spleen, pancreas, liver, and gallbladder. 

A healthy expression of the solar plexus chakra manifests as empowerment, living life with ease, vitality, mastery, and gracefulness. 

Heart Chakra

Your Heart Chakra is located in the center of your chest, near your heart, and is all about love and compassion for yourself and others, and maintaining a healthy emotional balance. It is directly linked to your heart and circulatory system, lungs, ribs, respiratory system, thymus gland, shoulders, and arms.

A healthy expression results in forgiveness, love for yourself and others, compassion, hope, and trust.

Throat Chakra

Your throat chakra, located in your throat, is related to your communication and creative expression, and is connected to your mouth, teeth, esophagus, thyroids, neck, shoulders, arms, and cervical spine.

A healthy expression of the throat chakra looks like expressing opinion clearly, good communication, and strong self expression.

Third Eye Chakra

Your Third Eye Chakra is located in the center of your forehead, and is connected to your nervous system, brain, pineal gland, hypothalamus, spinal cord, eyes, ears, nose, taste receptors, and touch receptors. It is responsible for your balance between intuition and analytical thinking, and allows you to see the truth in a situation, as well as openness to others’ ideas. 

A healthy expression looks like clarity, vision, wisdom, an ability to understand mental concepts, clairvoyance, visualization, and psychic abilities. 

Crown Chakra

Located on the top of your head, your Crown Chakra represents your connection with spirituality, your sense of self, and your connection to the universe. It is directly related to your head, brain, nervous system, and pituitary gland.

A healthy expression of the crown chakra looks like grace, enlightenment, bliss, devotion, transcendent ideas, spiritual consciousness, integration of the whole person, intimate connection with spirituality, unity with the divine, and general overall awareness.


If you want to learn more about the Chakras, how to find out if yours are blocked, and how you can align them – check out my free guide here.