Unblock Your Chakras

chakras May 18, 2022
Unblock Your Chakras

When your chakras are balanced, your life force energy flows freely through the body – whereas when they are blocked, we start to experience negative effects in both our physical and mental health.

In this guide, I am going to share the unhealthy expressions of each chakra to help you determine whether yours are blocked, as well as an affirmation you can say to help unblock each chakra. 

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra provides you with a foundation both physically and mentally, and helps keep you grounded.

When the root chakra is blocked, you may experience fear, poverty mindset, decreased sense of security and safety, inability to provide for your family and yourself, anxiety, career stress, fears of abandonment, lumbar disc issues, rectal tumors, knee problems, depression, or a compromised immune system. 

An unhealthy expression manifests as family and financial stress, anxiety, and low self worth. Some life experiences that may contribute to an unhealthy root chakra are divorce, financial scarcity, or trauma.

If your root chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I walk with grace and ease on Mother Earth. I am grounded in the present time, protected in the center of my energy space. I know my truth. I fully receive my spirit into my body.”

Sacral Chakra

Your Sacral Chakra is related to your creativity, sexuality, and how you relate emotionally to yourself and others. 

When the sacral chakra is blocked, you may experience a lack of creativity, moodiness, inability to express emotions, an inability to have positive sexual relationships, depression, reproductive hormonal imbalance, GI issues, sciatica, and urinary problems. Some life experiences that may contribute to an unhealthy sacral chakra are an unstable home environment as a child, an excessive need for approval, abuse, lack of connection and fulfillment, or taking on other’s emotions as your own.

An unhealthy expression presents itself as family and financial stress, physical anxiety, overall fearfulness, safety issues, and low self worth.

If your sacral chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is, “I am engaged in healthy relationships which support my overall sense of well-being. My emotions are balanced and positive. I operate with non-dual representation of my gender expression.”

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus chakra is responsible for your vitality, power, dreams, self-esteem, and confidence. 

A blocked solar plexus may look like blood sugar imbalances such as pancreatitis or diabetes, indigestion, stomach issues, kidney stones, liver toxicity, morning fatigue, and spine pain. It can also manifest in eating disorders such as anorexia, anger issues, low self-esteem/respect/confidence, excessive generalized fear, difficulty making decisions, and hyper-sensitivity. Some life experiences that may contribute to an unhealthy solar plexus chakra are the belief that life is a struggle, you’ve felt unable to go after your dreams, you have a hard time focusing, or you are constantly trying to force things to happen. 

An unhealthy expression in life looks like a lack of drive, power struggles, fatigue, anger, and a controlling and dominating personality.

If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I am in control of my self-esteem and personal power. I express my autonomous sense of self. I am a living expression of vitality. My sense of self-worth is in alignment with my authentic self. My life force energy is aligned with my intention.”

Heart Chakra

Your Heart Chakra is all about love and compassion for yourself and others, and maintaining a healthy emotional balance.

A blocked heart chakra can result in lung cancer, pneumonia, heart issues, asthma, breast cancer, shoulder issues, an inability to feel or express love for yourself or others, feelings of loss and grief, anger, hatred/resentment, self centeredness, and an inability to forgive. Some life experiences that may contribute to a blocked or unhealthy heart chakra are holding on to long-time grievances, a failure to forgive others, excessive loss, an inability to fully trust and commit to others, and living a lonely existence. 

An unhealthy heart chakra expression looks like hostility, heart disease, hatred, bitterness, grief, loss, and an inability to express love.

If your heart chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I am abundant in my love of self and others. I practice self compassion. I unconditionally love myself. I accept my weaknesses and strengths.”

Throat Chakra

Your throat chakra is related to your communication and creative expression. 

A blocked throat chakra can result in hypo- or hyperthyroidism, gum and teeth issues, neck pain, a weak immune system, fear of expression, an inability to speak your personal truth, and an unwillingness to recognize your creativity. Some life experiences that may contribute to a blocked or unhealthy throat chakra are the expectation to be seen instead of heard as a child, a difficulty in expressing yourself, and an ability to clearly articulate.

An unhealthy expression of the throat chakra looks like a fear of self expression, decreased creativity, and untapped talents. 

If your throat chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I am expansive in my creative expression. I speak my lesson of wisdom. I practice truth.”

Third Eye Chakra

Your Third Eye Chakra is responsible for your balance between intuition and analytical thinking, and allows you to see the truth in a situation, as well as openness to others’ ideas. 

A blocked third eye chakra can result in headaches, sleep disturbances, serotonin and melatonin imbalances, an inability to focus, judgemental thinking, over-reliance on logic and analytical thinking, an inability to see the truth, feelings of inadequacy, and the inability to learn from experiences. Some life experiences that contribute to an unhealthy third eye chakra are being in denial and not wanting to see the truth and close-mindedness.

An unhealthy expression of the third eye chakra manifests as cynicism, judgment, and a difficulty with abstract information.

If your third eye chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I see goodness in myself and the world around me. I see the truth in all situations. I value and trust my intuition.”

Crown Chakra

Your Crown Chakra represents your connection with spirituality, your sense of self, and your connection to the universe.


An unhealthy crown chakra may result in hormonal imbalances, vision issues, headaches, an inability to focus, loss of libido, weight gain, lack of the ability to trust life, diminished sense of self, inability to take control, unwillingness to recognize and connect with spiritual element of life, and the sense of not wanting to be part of life. Some life experiences that may contribute to a blocked crown chakra are a fear of the unknown/death and beyond/the mystical, not wanting to live in the moment, and always projecting into the past or future. 

An unhealthy expression looks like no experiential connection to spirituality, materialism, disconnectedness, an inability to take control of one's own life, and a decreased sense of self.

If your crown chakra is blocked, a good affirmation to practice is “I am a modern mystic. I am a spirit in a state of Grace. I am a spirit held in God-ness. My wise spirit guides my human journey.”


If you are ready to take your healing to the next level, I would love to introduce you to my Energy Healing Sessions. In these sessions, I’ll help you create and set a specific intention, then guide you through a meditation allowing you to reach that intention and connect with your true self on a spiritual level. Visit the link below to learn more and book your sessions today. 

Need to take a step back? Get back to basics with my free Chakra Guide here.